I Am Love

20180125_090554

Our personal value is as deep and as wide as we see it to be. Our self-worth is what we speak it to be. Who we are is as low or as high as we believe. God’s story of Love and value for us is limitless, yet we have a choice: To limit or to embrace the fullness of the love-offering and all of our worth.

I am selfish. I am a sinner. I am impatient. I am fat. I am too skinny. I am awkward. I am shy. I am too loud. I am worthless. I am unheard. I am foolish. I am too angry. I am too opinionated.  I am a nag. I am stupid. I am too emotional. I am unable. I am [fill in the blank with something negative].

How often are the words of: “I AM” pointed towards ourselves in a negative tone?

How often are we, instead, speaking words of life to ourselves?

I am beautiful. I am smart. I am forgiven. I am generous. I am perfect. I am worthy. I am confident. I am passionate. I am emotional (it’s a good thing). I am opinionated (that’s a good thing too). I am a voice. I am intelligent. I am awesome. I am unique. I am talented. I am [fill in the blank with something positive].

It is the negative words we take home at the end of the day and claim ownership of and begin using those words against our own person-hood that takes the living life right out of our beautiful growth. We have all been called names, and they hurt. What hurts even deeper is when we begin to call those very names to our self.

As a mother I need to be careful. Our children are listening and we are actually the molders and shapers of their growing lives! How important is this job!?!

Just the other day, my two kids were fighting about who gets the easiest part of the dishes. I had a head ache, and their arguments were frustrating and in my moment of frustration I said to them, “You guys are being so selfish.” And my daughter looks at me and says, “I am not selfish!”

She is absolutely right. Her declaration back to me stopped me in my tracks and my daughter put me in my place, so to speak. She had every right to declare that to me. And I said to her: “You are absolutely right, you are not selfish.”

But what if I kept calling her that. What if I kept saying she is selfish, would she someday grow up and point the word at herself and say: “I am selfish”?

Words bring life or death. We choose the result.

The Message says in Proverbs 18:21:

Words kill, words give life;
    they’re either poison or fruit—you choose.

We have a choice! We truly are what we believe ourselves to be and we are also, in part, what others believe us to be, if we let them !!

I want for my children, to grow up without so many words to have to slay. I want them to be released into their lives with ease and freedom to be able to know and declare without hesitation: “I am Love”.

We are sons and daughters of the most high God. Heirs to the Kingdom. And we get to live right here and right now in purposeful living, to choose to live on earth in our present state as it is in heaven, in the very best way that we can… and that is living this life through and in love.

So stop it! Stop right here and right now, stop belittling yourself. Stop lowering yourself and calling it humble. Stop questioning your abilities. Stop believing the self-defeating lies that speak words of death into your living life! And may we stop speaking negative words to and about others. We need leaders, parents, friends, neighbors that speak life, not leaders that call other people shitholes (sorry, it just fits the point of the story!).

Today I wrote the words: “I AM LOVE” onto the palm of my hand. As a reminder of who I really am. By speaking that I am love, I am believing it into reality. I am practicing and re-learning healthy words. I am actualizing who I really am by declaring words of life into existence.

If I want to be a loving mother, then I must be love. If I want to be a loving wife, then I must be love. If I want to be a loving friend, then I am love. I must practice love and it starts with belief!

We all tell ourselves things that are unproductive and belittling to who we really are. We all have those fear driven words that attempt to keep us lowly.

Here is the truth. The full solid golden truth is that we are love children. We are created, designed, imagined, and deeply loved by God who is the way and the truth and the life [John 14:6]. Our God is Love [1 John 4:8] and we are created in the image of Love [Genesis 1:27] therefore we are also love.

It is finished, a long time ago. We are forgiven. We are free to be who we are made to be. And the dirty trick is that so much religion and noise and jargon and abusive words and and… it all attempts to keep us in a lowly place of self-attack, never thinking we are enough. Believing that we have to do something or earn our way to a place of value. That we need to know the right people, dress the right way, and act in a way that pleases others. Accepting the myth of an imaginary ladder to climb or pyramid to escalate within in order to feel worth and value.

Why do we do this to ourselves? It is because of fear. Fear is lies and fear is self-defeat. Fear keeps us down and fear also drives us to accomplish things for the wrong reasons. Fear puts us in an order of levels of worth, labels and segregation. Fear states a very clear “us and them” mentality. Fear keeps us locked up. Fear makes us feel shame. Fear is the ego leading the way.

To say I am love is revolutionary in the face of fear. What I want to amplify here is how divinely profound it is to really believe in love. To really believe that you are loved. To actually love yourself. To declare yourself as a vessel of love. It’s a big deal.

To love God and to love others without also ourselves is not sustainable. It won’t last, it never does and it never will. God intended for our love to abound within and without because God first loved us. What I mean is, Yes, we that choose the way of Christ we love God and love people, but we also love ourselves. If we truly believe the word that says: “I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well” [Psalms 139:14] then we see how important it is to value our God-created selves; praising God for creating us, for we are God’s works — God’s Magnum Opus, Filled with love from the Creator in the very fibers of our meticulously created bodies. How beautiful!

Love is a choice.

We are, my friends, as amazing as we believe ourselves to be. And God knows how amazing you are. 

Leave a comment